25 days of self care

Hello Mighty Morphin’ Self Care Rangers, how are we all? I’ve really enjoyed by week of exploring self care but I woke up this morning to piles of people on my twitter timeline wishing each other happy advent (not even a thing) and I felt ready to ram their advent calendars down their throats, cardboard and all. So Christmas is not my favourite time of year. In fact, I would go as far as to say that it’s my least favourite time of year. I know that a lot of you feel the same for a variety of reasons. Christmas can be a massive magnifying glass held up to all of the mental health triggers, family problems and insecurities. The whole culture of Christmas sets up the ideal of a happy family sitting around a dinner table with piles of presents and heaps of food. This is not the reality for so so many people. It can be a truly miserable time for many of us who have lost people at Christmas, who have grown up with or still live in poverty, who cannot afford to eat day to day let alone to pile the table high with turkey and stuffing and who are daily confronted with their inability to do so.

2014-12-01(This “Christmas carnival” is literally the view from my office. There’s no escape.)

Christmas is something I really struggle with. The whole season makes my want to crawl into by bed and not emerge until March. Sadly that isn’t really possible or practical so instead I’m going to spend the run up to Christmas continuing to explore self care and sharing what helps me to survive the festive season. I’m really hoping that some of you will come along on the ride so that we can learn from one another, pick up some hints and tips and build a little community of Scrooges and Grinches. If you’re wondering what this self care thing is all about, you can read my post about it here.  You can share your self care tactics by blogging, Tweeting, Instagramming, Facebooking or any way you feel like, or not at all if you don’t want to. I’ll be using #25daysofselfcare to explore my own self care and blogging about it as I go along. I’d love to host some self care blogs if any one you fancy doing some writing. I hope you’ll join me!

Big non-festive love to you all!

 

One response to “25 days of self care

Leave a Reply

