As seen in Times Higher Ed!

2014-04-11 16.31.56Morning gang! How are we all today? It’s a beautiful morning in an unspecified area of Scotland! This week has been a very good week. The eagle eyed among you may have noticed that I got a little write up in Times Higher Ed last week, An Ex-Academic Follower of Fashion sailed serenely through 30 thousand views and I got a crazy-exciting new job!

I want to say a gigantic, enormous thank you to Chris Parr from the Times for my lovely write up and an even more gigantic, even more enormous THANK YOU to all of you for reading, for supporting me this far, for challenging and encouraging me. I’ve made so many amazing new friends and I have honestly no idea where I’d be without you.

I just have a couple of thoughts about the experience of having my lil’ old blog featured in THE that I wanted to share with you. Firstly, can I just say that I categorically DID NOT renew my student railcard. Do you hear that Scotrail? No fraud here! Secondly, delighted as I am by the piece in THE, there is a danger of making this issue of mental health sound a bit the The Jessica Show; one lone voice against the evil forces of academia. This fits marvelously with this recent piece in the Guardian by the fantastic Nadine Muller which reminds us that just because there are relatively few of us who speak up about mental health does not mean that we are alone in our struggles. The issues with academia are myriad and are not confined to mental health but take in a whole spectrum of physical disabilities, temporary and chronic illnesses. There is a fantastic blogging community of people who are vocal about these issues and we speak out, not because we feel we are hard done to but because we believe that these issues affect many more people who cannot talk about them and we don’t think that is right. I think that one of the most empowering realizations that you can have as a struggling student is “it’s not just me” and that is what we are trying to do here. If you need convincing, please please do check out #AcademicAbleism.

Well, that’s enough from me today. I’m off to play Dinosaur-themed mini-golf. Yes really. Hope you all have a fantastic holiday weekend and, to all you PhD-ers, do try and take some time off!

 

Leave a Reply

